Monday, July 01, 2013

Log Pyramid Quilt Along: Glamour Shots

Here it is!  My finished Log Pyramid baby quilt.  Soon it will be off to live with a sweet little newborn girl.

It's quite different from my original which used mostly solids.  The key to using mostly prints like this is  to keep any similarly colored and similarly scaled prints from being right next to each other.  I kind of blew it on one pyramid.  Can you spot it?  The center triangle is a little too hard to distinguish from the row around it.

Now who wants to gaze upon my lovely points?  By carefully trimming and lining up your pieces you too can have pretty points.  You have the power!  

And here's my crazy, scrappy back.  I do get satisfaction from making my backings out of leftovers from the top.  Waste not, want not, use every part of the buffalo, etc.  

There you have it!  I hope you've enjoyed playing along and if you haven't yet, you can join in at any time. 

You can find the rest of the quilt along at the following links:

  • Friday, April 12 - Fabric and supplies
  • Monday, April 15 - Making your template
  • Tuesday, April 16 - Cutting your fabric
  • Thursday, April 18 - Piecing the main blocks
  • Tuesday, April 23 - Piecing the side blocks
  • Thursday, April 25 - Making the quilt top
  • Tuesday, April 30 - Making the quilt back
  • Thursday, May 2 - Quilting
  • Friday, June 28 - Binding
  • Monday, July 1 - The End!

  • And you can share your progress in the Flickr group, here!


    1. Oh it looks fabulous! Your points are amazing but I'm not sure I really do have the power. ;)

      I WILL make one of these one day. Thanks so much for all your hard work.

      1. Trust me, you've got it! I hope you'll share what you make if you end up making your own version!